Monday, September 21, 2015

Venturing Crew 6 Honors Local Scouts

Venturing Crew 6 recently hosted their semi-annual Court of Honor. A Court of Honor is a special ceremony to recognize crew members that have achieved awards in scouting.
That evening, Venturing Crew 6 honored its members who had completed the requirements for recognition in various programs offered in venturing. Acknowledging the importance of the support they received from fellow members, while meeting their own individual goals and requirements.
In 2014, Venturing underwent some changes; one of the major changes that were implemented was the new advancement program. The venturing awards and recognition program is designed to help venturers grow in the areas of adventure, leadership, personal development, and service. Awards serve as benchmarks that give venturers a structure for developing their own personal vision into manageable goals that lead to recognition by their peers, mentors, and the larger community.
The new venturing award program has four levels, the Venturing Award, the Discovery Award, the Pathfinder Award, and the Summit Award. Crew 6 presented its members who had earned awards under this advancement program. 

To earn the Venturing Award, scouts must agree to live by the Scout Oath and Law, go on a Crew Outing or camping trip, learn about Person Safety and discuss joining the crew with the adult Advisor.
Seven Venturers met these requirements for the Venturing Award; Nicholas Jenkins (also an Eagle Scout), Imani Floyd, Jacob Ingram, William Morton, Angie Ward and Gunnar Hester.
To earn the Discovery Award, Venturers must participate in a district, council, area, region or National Venturing event. They realize benefits that they have gained from their training for leadership and for service. Venturers rush on, working, serving, and leading. And as they go, they set one personal growth goal related to each of the following areas, citizenship, leadership, service to others, community/family, outdoor experience, and total fitness. They must plan, prepare for, and lead to completion two crew activity projects.
Six Venturers me all the requirements for the Discovery Award; Will Carpenter, Rachael Dewey, Zachery Dixon, Renee' Gomez, Elissa Miller and Haley Saunders (currently working on her Girl Scout Gold Award).  
Angie Ward and Haley Saunders were recognized for completing a week-long National Youth Leadership Training Course held at Camp Bud Schiele this past Summer.

Crew 6 also recognized Crew President Renee' Gomez for her rather unique skill as the official Crew 6 Zombie makeup artist. She has used this skill at many events that the crew has participated in like the Annual Gastonia, NC Zombie Walk for charity and our own annual event Zombie Survival Weekend.  In this event, participants have to compete in scout survival skill challenges in a competition event, while being chased by zombies! 
Venturing Crew 6 meets weekly Sundays in Gastonia at the Family Life Center of First Baptist Church of Gastonia. More information on the crew can be found at or contact Crew Advisor Tom Dewey at

No comments:

Post a Comment